Laughing Giraffe Queens Of Hearts      

Go Back   Laughing Giraffe > SCHLEICH and OTHER TOY ANIMALS > CUSTOMIZED ANIMALS
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 30th October 2010, 06:37 PM
check "GUIDELINES - ...."

Default My hand made animal figures

Here are my recently made animal figures, all more or less in Schleich/Papo scale. I'm a rookie in a clay sculpting so please write what do you think about it, and any professional tips ( like which clay/colors/fixative/armature to use, which books to read and so on) from those of you who sculpt animal figures are more than welcome.

Indian gharial. The first figure I've made from polimer clay

Aardvarks.

Orangutan male. The last for today and I believe the most successfull one.
Old 30th October 2010, 07:46 PM

Wow, you seem to be very enthusiastic in sculpting!
I can't share any experience 'cause I don't make figures myself. But I can say that I like the orangutan the most!
Old 31st October 2010, 03:16 AM
chief nitwit/chef beweter

I'm not a sculptor but find that your animals may not be perfect yet, but you have definitely captured their spirits and I like the lying anteater best. It looks as though it's having a great time.
Old 31st October 2010, 08:12 AM

They are wonderful! I really like the Aardvarks. You've done a great job with them.
I've never tried polymer clay, the clay I use is air drying, is that the case with yours too? Or do you have to bake it? I'd like to try out other types of clays.
Old 31st October 2010, 10:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiryuha View Post
Wow, you seem to be very enthusiastic in sculpting!
I can't share any experience 'cause I don't make figures myself. But I can say that I like the orangutan the most!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helen View Post
I'm not a sculptor but find that your animals may not be perfect yet, but you have definitely captured their spirits and I like the lying anteater best. It looks as though it's having a great time.
Quote: